2016  Bavarian Order of Merit
2014  Targa d‘Oro  Convengo Internazionale UID, Parma
2013  PLEA Award for Excellence in the field of passive and low energy architecture, London
2010  Award of Aarhus Kommune (residential building), Aarhus
2010  Socio Onorario / Società Italiana della Tecnologia dell‘ Architettura
2009  Global Award for Sustainable Architecture
2008  Special honours for his life`s work of the “International Holzbauforum”
2007  International Architecture Award, Chicago Atheneum (SOKA Bau)
2006  European Architecture and Technology Award (SOKA Bau)
2005  Premio Solare Europeo, Categoria Architettura e Urbanistica (Lunghezzina)
2005  Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz-Medal in recognition of contributions to research and teaching, Technical University of Munich
2005  Architecture Prize for “exemplary buildings” in Hessen (SOKA Bau)
2004  Award at the National Prize for architecture of the State of Lower Saxony (ZUK)
2003  Premio Solare Europeo, Categoria Achitettura e Urbanistica (Porto di Citavechia / Waterfront)
2001  International Innovation Award for architectural ceramics (tile facade)
2000  European Award for “SOLARES BAUEN”
1999  Fritz-Schumacher-Award for Architecture, Hamburg
1998  German Steel Architecture Award (Halle 26)
1998  Architecture Prize of Nordrhein-Westfalen (residential building Lippspringe )
1998  Architecture Prize for “exemplary buildings”, WestHyp-Stiftung (Halle 26)
1998  Grande médaille d´or d´architecture of the French Architecture Academy, Paris
1998  EUROSOLAR Award for Architecture and Urban Planning
1998  Den grønne Nål of the Danish Order of Architects
1998  Leo-von-Klenze-Medal of the The Bavarian Ministry of the Interior, for Building and Transport
1997  Mies-van-der-Rohe Pavilion Award for European Architecture, Finalist (Halle 26)
1996  Architecture Prize of the City of Munich
1996  Auguste-Perret-Prize of the International Union of Architects – UIA of applied technology in Architecture
1995  Benedictus Award, distinguished finalist (DC Linz)
1994  International Constructec-Prize (Wilkhahn)
1994  German Steel Architecture Award (DC Linz)
1994  Cultural Award for Architecture of  Upper Austria (DC Linz)
1994  Balthasar-Neumann-Award, Berlin (Wilkhahn)
1993  Gold Medal /  Grand Prize  of the Association of German Architects BDA
1991  BDA-Award Bavaria (Windberg)
1983  BDA-Award Bavaria (residential building Richter )
1981  BDA-Award Bavaria (residential building Regensburg )
1981  Mies-van-der-Rohe-Award
1971  Villa Massimo Award, Rome